Tasmania has reopened its borders to “low-risk areas” after a seven-month closure from the mainland.

From today, travellers from Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Northern Territory, the ACT and New Zealand will be able to enter the island state without quarantining. (New South Wales is expected to be included on November 2, the ABC reports.)

Travellers from those states and territories will be able to travel through Victoria or New South Wales to get to the airport or to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal (only stopping for fuel during that journey). Crucially, South Australians must not transit via a Victorian airport – check SA’s latest travel restriction updates online for more information.

Before arriving in Tasmania, travellers will need to register their details on the Tas e-Travel online registration system. They’ll then receive a QR code, which is scanned upon arrival.

Tasmanians can now travel freely to all low-risk states except for Western Australia, which is still enforcing its hard border closure to the rest of the country. Tasmanians should check each state’s travel restrictions before making plans. People intending to enter South Australia, for example, need to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration, and must not transit via a Victorian airport.