The 2022 Keir Choreographic Award at Carriageworks and Dancehouse

Thu 23rd June, 2022 – Sat 2nd July, 2022
Carriageworks, 245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh NSW 2015 and Dancehouse, 150 Princes Street, Carlton North VIC 3054.
Price: $35–$70
The fifth Keir Choreographic Award unfolds across Sydney and Melbourne this June and July

The Keir Choreographic Award – presented by The Keir Foundation is back for 2022, taking place across two major cities for the first time, with performances at Carriageworks in Sydney and Dancehouse in Melbourne. The two-week run presents a series of newly-commissioned, jury-selected works promoting cross-artform practices in contemporary dance.

Each venue will host eight works by independent Australian artists and collectives including Alan Schacher and WeiZen Ho (NSW), Alice Will Caroline (VIC), Jenni Large (TAS), Joshua Pether (WA), Lucky Lartey (NSW), Raghav Handa (NSW), Rebecca Jensen (VIC) and Tra Mi Dinh (VIC) over a two-week season running Thursday June 23 – July 2. Performances rotate in two sets of four, with each artist on the program performing in both cities. Selected following an Australia-wide callout and 64 proposals in total, the commissioned artists span early-career and emerging practitioners to established dancers from around the country.

At the finale of the program on Sunday July 3 at Carriageworks, a jury of international dance leaders will select the recipient of the 2022 Keir Choreographic Award jury prize, with the winner receiving $50,000. The jury includes artistic director of Australian Dance Theatre, Daniel Riley (Wiradjuri/Australia); choreographer and independent dance artist Eko Supriyanto (Indonesia); dance presenter and curator Laurie Uprichard (Ireland); acclaimed artist and collaborator Lemi Ponifasio (Aotearoa New Zealand/Samoa); and dance dramaturg, academic and researcher Nanako Nakajima (Japan).

Tickets are on sale now via the Carriageworks and Dancehouse websites.

Broadsheet is a proud media partner of Carriageworks