The Rubens have the right idea. Instead of embarking on a tedious stretch of late-night gigs, the band has announced a 19-date national tour of free pub gigs over November and December. Many of them are in the afternoon and by the sea. Not too shabby.

See the list of dates here, with more to be announced.

NEW SOUTH WALES

Fri November 11, Coogee Bay Hotel – Coogee 8.30pm

Sun November 13, Towradgi Beach Hotel – Towradgi 2.30pm

Fri November 25, Queens Wharf Hotel – Newcastle 8.30pm

Sun November 27, Clovelly Hotel – Clovelly 5pm

Sat December 3, Beach Hotel – Byron Bay 2.30pm Hotel Brunswick – Brunswick Heads 8pm

VICTORIA

Thu November 17, Republica – St Kilda 7.30pm

Fri November 18, The Boatbuilders Yard – South Wharf 6pm

Sat November 19, Lorne Hotel – Lorne 3pm Torquay Hotel – Torquay 9pm

Sun November 20, Portsea Hotel – Portsea 2pm The Emerson – South Yarra 6pm

QUEENSLAND

Fri December 2, Noosa Surf Club – Noosa Heads 9pm

Sun December 4, Fisherman’s Wharf Tavern – Main Beach 3pm The Islander – Surfers Paradise 7pm

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Fri December 9, The Parade Hotel – East Bunbury 9pm

Sat December 10, The Northshore Tavern – Hillarys 9pm

Sun December 11, Mullaloo Hotel – Mullaloo 2pm The Aviary – Perth CBD 7pm

More information available here.