Earlier this month, André 3000, Kim Gordon, Genesis Owusu and Tkay Maidza were announced as this year’s headliners for Volume – the Art Gallery of New South Wales’s music and art festival. Today we get a look at Volume’s free program, which runs across AGNSW’s two buildings.

The free and unticketed experiences include a new art installation from Flume and artist Jonathan Zawada. Every dull moment (EDM) has been created specifically for the Tank space. It’ll have sound work, heady projections and mesmerising lights and lasers. The artwork changes every 10 to 90 seconds, never repeating, with new compositions by Flume. It runs every day from July 7 to 21.

On July 10 there’ll be a series of performances from Aboriginal country music artists – Roger Knox, Kyla-Belle Roberts, Loren Ryan, Frank Yamma, Jarod Hickling and Kathryn Kelly – called Blak Country.

Never miss a Sydney moment. Make sure you're subscribed to our newsletter today.


On July 17, experimental musicians from the worlds of neo-classical, electronic and ambient music come together in Extasis. Curated by composer Lawrence English, it features Jim O’Rourke, Eiko Ishibashi and Keiji Haino, among others.

On weekends during Volume visitors will also get to see musicians from Newtown’s Asylum Seekers Centre in Play On, Play Again, Play Forever – 30-minute performances responding to artworks in AGNSW’s collection.

There’s also a daytime soundscape called Threshold, an afternoon of live music on July 6 to open the festival, and a specially made playlist of music made in collaboration with Long Bay Correctional Complex.

Volume runs from July 5 to 21. General tickets are on sale for ticketed performances from 11am, Wednesday May 22. No bookings required for free events.