The NSW government has confirmed the locations of six new Sydney Metro stations to be constructed as part of the 23-kilometre Western Sydney Airport line. The stations will be located at St Marys, Orchard Hills, Luddenham, the Western Sydney Aerotropolis, and two at the Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport terminal. The Western Sydney Aerotropolis, located 60 kilometres west of Sydney’s CBD at Bringelly, is slated to become Sydney’s “third city” (after the CBD and Parramatta).

The government has not yet confirmed a timeline for the new $11 billion metro line, but the new airport should begin operations in 2026. Construction of the metro line, which will begin at St Marys and terminate at the airport, has been fast-tracked to begin later this year to help boost the economy following Covid-19.

“The new railway will link residential areas with jobs hubs and connect travellers from the new airport with the rest of Sydney’s public transport network,” the state minister for Transport and Roads, Andrew Constance, said at a press conference yesterday.

The line will join the North West line, which began services between Rouse Hill and Chatswood in May last year. The next stages of the Metro to open will be the Sydney Metro West line and the Sydney Metro City and Southwest line, both slated to begin services in the mid-2020s.

The existing Metro station at Chatswood will be linked up with new stations at Crows Nest and North Sydney, as well as several stations in the CBD, including at Martin Place and the junction of Pitt and Park Streets. The Metro will then split, with one line heading west via Five Dock and Homebush, terminating at Westmead, and the other going south-west via Marrickville and Campsie before terminating at Bankstown.

More information here.