A number of Sydney venues have made the shortlist for the 2017 Eat Drink Design Awards, which are dedicated exclusively to the design of food and drink spaces in Australia and New Zealand.

“From coffee kiosks and 12-seat restaurants, to takeaway shops and food courts, this year’s Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist reveals the exceptional quality and variety of design in Australia and New Zealand’s hospitality scene,” says jury chairperson Cassie Hansen.

Sydney venues in the Best Bar Design category include Maurice Terzini’s multi-faceted The Dolphin, designed by George Livissianis. In the pub area, black-and-white graffiti-style couches by Beni Single are wrapped in plastic, walls are bare and whitewashed in certain sections and menus are scrawled onto brown paper.

Other bars that made the cut are Brick Lane in Double Bay and Goodbar in Paddington (both AZBcreative); Guillaume Brahimi’s Mosman pub The Buena (SJB + TRD); the Hyatt Regency’s rooftop bar Zephyr (Bates Smart); and micro-brewery/bar Endeavour Tap Room in The Rocks (Welsh and Major Architects). Endeavour in a building that once housed Sydney’s longest-running colonial hotel.

Merivale’s Paddington basement bar Charlie Parker’s made it in, as did the restaurant above it, Fred’s, in the Best Restaurant Design category (ACME&Co). The design of both spaces mirror the ethos of the honest, produce-driven food and drink offering.

Numerous CBD-based restaurants made the cut: newly opened Mode Kitchen and Bar in the Four Seasons (Luchetti Krelle); 12-Micron (SJB) and Ume Burger (Amber Road) in Barangaroo; and Jade Temple (Grant Cheyne). In the inner west: the welcoming, squeezy Egyptian restaurant Cairo Takeaway (Carnival Design Studio) and Bekya in Tramsheds (Juicy Design).

Get our pick of the best news, features and events delivered twice a week

In the Best Cafe Design category, La Cantina (Blank Creatives); the CBD’s Edition Roasters; 333 Regiment (Guru Projects); and The Dessert Kitchen (Matt Woods Design). Foolscap Studio is nominated for Noma Australia in Best Installation Design.

The winners will be announced Tuesday November 14 at the official awards ceremony held at The Arts Centre in Melbourne.