Details of the trans-Tasman travel bubble are becoming clearer after Australia and New Zealand agreed to some rules today.

The two countries have decided travel will be limited to outbound passengers from New Zealand to New South Wales and the Northern Territory to begin with. Australians will not be able to visit the neighbouring country for the time being.

In a fortnight, Kiwis will be allowed to enter Australia without the need to quarantine upon arrival, provided they have not been in a “hotspot” – defined as an area which has recorded more than three cases across three days – in the last 14 days.

Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack said that, going forward, other states and territories that accept the Commonwealth’s official hotspot definition will be allowed to enter the travel bubble. Other Pacific nations are also being considered to join the bubble in the future.

This comes after Prime Minister Scott Morrison yesterday hinted that New South Wales and South Australia would be the first states included in the travel bubble with NZ.

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern told reporters today that her country’s borders will remain closed in order to keep residents safe.