Every year, the Australian Interior Design Awards celebrates the country’s best interior design across hospitality venues, retailers, homes, workplaces and art galleries. In its 21st year, the awards has its longest ever shortlist with 222 projects selected across the country – seven more than last year’s record-breaking submissions.

In the hospitality category, Melbourne’s warm, den-like restaurant Studio Amaro, the futuristic Lygon Street bakery Madeleine de Proust and the moody all-day spot Antara 128 all made the shortlist. As did Adelaide’s minimalist Pinco Deli and the striking private dining room in the basement of Fugazzi.

Sydney’s warm and inviting Longshore and the new fit-out for Newtown’s Gelato Messina were named. As were Brisbane’s Como Restaurant and European deli-inspired the Wolf Dining and Bar. And WA’s slick wine bar Vin Populi, Perth members’ club Lawson Flats and two-tone Greek taverna Yiamas.

Never miss a moment. Make sure you're subscribed to our newsletter today.


Architectural projects such as Aesop’s headquarters, Jardan and Cancer Council’s offices in Melbourne are named in the workplace category. The Embassy of Australia in Washington DC is listed in the public design category, alongside the revamped library and members’ lounge at the Art Gallery of New South Wales. The Lisa Gorman and Mirka Mora exhibition at Warrnambool Art Gallery and the Carla Zampatti exhibition at Powerhouse have been recognised in the installation design category. Sarah & Sebastian’s bunker-like jewellery store, the new G McBean Family Butcher and Albury’s joyful Monumental Ice Creamery are on the shortlist for retail spaces. Plus, 65 private homes – including ones in the Netherlands, France and New Zealand, designed by Australian architects – made the cut.

The awards are delivered by the Design Institute of Australia and Architecture Media’s Artichoke magazine. This year’s jury panel includes David Flack (Flack Studio), Richard Coulson (COX Architecture), Madeline Sewall (Breathe Architecture), Beatrix Rowe (Beatrix Rowe Interior Design), Isabelle Toland (Aileen Sage Architects), Adele Winteridge (Foolscap Studio), Paul Foskett (Populous) and Katherine Ashe (Vittino Ashe Architects).

Winning projects will be announced on Friday June 14. See the full shortlist via the link below.