Sydney venue The Baxter Inn has taken out Bar of the Year at the 2017 Australian Bar Awards.

Next-door neighbour The Barber Shop collected two gongs, for Gin of the Year as well as Bar Operator of the Year, which went to owner Mike Enright.

Also picking up awards were PS40 (Cocktail List of the Year), Eau de Vie (Hotel Bar of the Year), the Lobo Plantation (Rum Bar of the Year), The Dolphin (New Pub of the Year) and Big Poppa’s (Best Bartender’s Bar).

Merimbula’s Dulcie Cottage won Regional Bar of the Year and Tio’s Cerveceria took home the Phil Bayly Award for Tequila Bar of the Year.

Sydney bars won both new awards this year: Charlie Parker’s in Paddington took out the inaugural award for Best Sustainable Bar Program and Restaurant Hubert picked up Restaurant Bar of the Year.

Australian Bartender Magazine’s Bar Awards are the industry’s most respected independently run awards because winners are chosen by peers. Finalists were chosen after a round of public voting, but the overall winners were voted by their fellow finalists.

Daniel Gregory from Brisbane bar Canvas won Bartender of the Year, with New South Wales’ Jonothan Carr (Kittyhawk) and James Irvine (Swillhouse) in second and third place, respectively.

Australian Bartender Magazine Bar Awards 2017 Winners

Bartender of the Year
Winner: Daniel Gregory
2nd Place: Jonothan Carr
3rd Place: James Irvine

Bar of the Year – State Awards:
ACT: Highball Express
NSW: The Baxter Inn
NT: Lazy Susan’s
QLD: Cobbler
SA: Hains & Co
TAS: Salamanca
VIC: The Beaufort
WA: Mechanics Institute

Cocktail Bar of the Year – State Awards:
ACT: Bar Rochford
NT: The Pearl
QLD: Seymour’s Cocktails & Oysters
SA: Maybe Mae
TAS: Robbie Brown’s
VIC: Black Pearl
WA: Dominion League

Cocktail List of the Year:
PS40, Sydney

Rookie of the Year:
Ella Rhodes, Cobbler

Live Music Bar of the Year:
Lefty’s Old Time Music Hall, Brisbane

Bar Operator of the Year:
Jared Merlino, Sydney

Small Bar of the Year:
Bad Frankie, Melbourne

Wine Bar of the Year:
Embla, Melbourne

Outstanding Contribution Award:
Mike Enright (The Barber Shop)

New Bar of the Year: 
Above Board, Melbourne

Hotel Bar of the Year:
Eau de Vie, Sydney

Cocktail Bar of the Year:
Black Pearl, Melbourne

Whisky Bar of the Year:
Whisky & Alement, Melbourne

Best Sustainable Bar Program:
Charlie Parker’s, Sydney

Rum Bar of the Year: 
The Lobo Plantation, Sydney

Bar Team of the Year:
The Gresham, Brisbane

Bar Manager of the Year:
Dimitri Rtshiladze, Mechanics Institute

Nightclub of the Year:
The Emerson, Melbourne

Regional Bar of the Year:
Dulcie’s Cottage, Merimbula

Pub Operator of the Year:

Best Bar Food:
Seymour’s Cocktails & Oysters, Brisbane

Training Program of the Year:
The Exchange/The Blend CCA & Beam Suntory

Brand Ambassador of the Year:
Samuel Ng, Four Pillars Gin

Restaurant Bar of the Year:
Restaurant Hubert, Sydney

Best Specialty Beer Venue:
Boilermaker House, Melbourne

New Pub of the Year:
The Dolphin, Sydney

The Phil Bayly Award for Tequila Bar of the Year:
Tio’s Cerveceria, Sydney

Gin of the Year:
The Barber Shop, Sydney

Best Bartender’s Bar:
Big Poppa’s, Sydney

Bar of the Year:
The Baxter Inn, Sydney