Luminous

Sun 11th August, 2019 – Fri 23rd August, 2019
Multiple
The Australian Chamber Orchestra has revamped its audiovisual collaboration with acclaimed artist Bill Henson for a national tour – a decade on.

The Australian Chamber Orchestra (ACO), led by artistic director Richard Tognetti, is revisiting its 2005 audio-visual collaboration with acclaimed Australian artist Bill Henson, Luminous.

The genre-bending piece, last performed 10 years ago, has been refreshed with new imagery, an expanded musical repertoire and guest vocals from indie Israeli-Australian singer-songwriter Lior.

The visual focus will again be Henson’s haunting, evocative photography, which will be accompanied by music spanning modern outfits, such as R.E.M., and master composers, such as Benjamin Britten and Leoš Janáček.

The musical centrepiece will be Latvian composer Peteris Vasks’s sublime violin concerto Distant Light.

Henson is known for his dark urban landscapes and moody explorations of liminal spaces – between day and night, male and female, youth and adulthood, urban and rural settings. Luminous is a moving multi-sensory journey that’s at times meditative, and manic at others. It tours nationally in August.

More information here.

Tour dates:

Melbourne
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall
Sun Aug 11, 2.30pm
Mon Aug 12, 7.30pm

Adelaide
Adelaide Town Hall
Tue Aug 13, 7.30pm

Perth
Perth Concert Hall
Wed Aug 14, 7.30pm

Sydney
City Recital Hall
Sat Aug 17, 7pm
Tue Aug 20, 8pm
Wed Aug 21, 7pm
Fri Aug 23, 1.30pm

Sydney Opera House
Sun Aug 18, 2pm

Brisbane
QPAC Concert Hall
Mon Aug 19, 7pm