When music-comedy star Tim Minchin announced his 12-show national tour, BACK, last month tickets sold like hotcakes.

To meet demand, additional shows have been added in Adelaide, Canberra, Perth, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. The tour will kick off in March 2019, with tickets on sale from today.

The tour has been billed as “Old Songs, New Songs, F* You Songs”, so we can expect a set list that spans his diverse and provocative career.

Minchin recently moved back to Australia and settled in Sydney after long stints in the UK and the US. While away, he wrote the music and lyrics for Matilda the Musical and Groundhog Day – which snagged a combined eight Olivier Awards, 13 Helpmann Awards and five Tony Awards.

He also recently appeared in the ABC comedy series Squinterse and this year will play Friar Tuck in a new film adaptation of Robin Hood, also starring Taron Egerton of Kingsman-fame and Hollywood icon Jamie Foxx. Upright – the drama series he’s been writing alongside Chris Taylor from satirical group The Chaser – will also be released soon.

Minchin’s last Australian tour was the sold-out Tim Minchin vs the Orchestra in 2011 and 2012.

STAY IN THE KNOW
Get our pick of the best news, features and events delivered twice a week

Get tickets here.

Tour dates:
Adelaide

Thu March 7 (new show), Fri March 8 and Sat March 9 – Thebarton Theatre, Torrensville

Canberra

Fri March 15 and Sat March 16 (new show) – Canberra Theatre, Canberra

Perth

Wed March 20 (new show), Thu March 21 (new show), Fri March 22 and Sat March 23 – Crown Theatre, Burswood

Sydney

Thu March 26 (new show), Wed March 27, Thu March 28 and Fri March 29 – State Theatre, Sydney

Melbourne

Wed April 3 (new show), Thu April 4 (new show), Fri April 5 and Sat April 6 – Palais Theatre, St Kilda

Brisbane

Tue April 9 (new show), Wed April 10, Thu April 11 and Fri April 12 (new show) – Qpac, South Brisbane

timminchin.com