When Red Hot Chili Peppers announced an Australian tour last year, tickets for the shows immediately sold out. But if you missed out fear not. A small selection of extra tickets will go on sale this morning.

The band has also announced a killer support act, one that has been highly influential on their own funk-rock sound – George Clinton, leader of Parliament Funkadelic.

American music would simply not be the same without Clinton's influence. There would be no Dr Dre or Warren G. No YG or Kendrick, Flying Lotus or Thundercat. No Janelle Monae, Dawn Richard or Erykah Badu. Many of these artists have sampled his work or worked with their idol directly. Hell, he even produced Red Hot Chili Peppers' second album Freaky Styley. Check out Clinton's classic track Atomic Dog for a taste of his singular madness.

From the Chilis expect a mix of the stadium-style extravaganzas you’d expect of a band that’s sold 80 million records (you might remember their ’90s blockbusters Blood Sugar Sex Magik and Californication, or even their later efforts By the Way or Stadium Arcadium, no?).

A mere 500 extra tickets have been released for shows in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane; and 200 for Hobart. Perth and Hope Estate, Hunter Valley, will also get a final release of general admission tickets.

Final release tickets go on sale Tuesday February 5 at 9am. Tickets here.

Tour dates:
Tasmania
Sun February 17 – Derwent Entertainment Centre, Glenorchy.
George Clinton will not appear at this show.

New South Wales
Tue February 19 – Qudos Bank Arena, Sydney
Wed February 20 – Qudos Bank Arena, Sydney
Sat February 23 – Hope Estate Winery, Pokolbin

Queensland
Mon February 25 – Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Boondall

Victoria
Thu February 28 – Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne
Sat March 2 – Mt Duneed Estate, Waurn Ponds

South Australia
Sun March 3 – Superloop Adelaide 500. Tickets here.

Western Australia
Tue March 5 – Nib Stadium, Perth