From Tuesday December 8, people from New South Wales and Victoria will be allowed to travel to Western Australia without completing 14 days of self-quarantine.

The news of WA reopening its borders to the country's most populous states was announced by Premier Mark McGowan today, with advice from his public health team that they are now considered "low risk". This is based on Victoria's run of more than 28 days without community transmission of Covid-19. NSW is due to reach that milestone this Friday.

The changes leave South Australia as the sole state in Australia unable to travel to WA, which is still considered "medium risk" until December 11. The WA government says it will undertake a review of these arrangements next week.

Travellers coming through Perth Airport will need to agree to a couple conditions, including having to undergo a health screening and temperature test. If it is deemed necessary, they will need to take a Covid-19 test. All travellers will then receive a SMS health check reminder one week into their stay.

"WA's border controls have proved highly effective in reducing the risk of COVID-19 coming into our State from other Australian jurisdictions," says McGowan. "As a result, Western Australia is safe and strong, and we want to keep it that way under our controlled border regime.

"We can take this next step, safely and cautiously, thanks to the recent success of our friends over east getting the spread of the virus under control. Victoria's success is something all Australians should be proud of."