This year’s Australian Interior Design Awards have been announced, crowning the country’s most impressive interior design across restaurants, bars, shops, homes, galleries, offices and public spaces. Chosen from a record-breaking 222 projects on the shortlist, most of this year’s winners are in Victoria.

Melbourne’s grand eatery Reine, its accompanying bar La Rue and subterranean venue Purple Pit share the 2024 Hospitality Design Award.

The jury applauded Studio Massive with Latitude Group for Purple Pit’s “punk sensibility”, and its contribution to “the return of something very different to the dining and hospitality scene”. It said Akin Atelier’s design for Reine and La Rue “achieves a sense of intimacy in an otherwise grand environment” and that the project’s fit-out in the former Melbourne Stock Exchange “grounds the overall hospitality experience”. Reine and La Rue were also recognised in the Best of State Commercial Design (Victoria) segment.

Never miss a moment. Make sure you're subscribed to our newsletter today.


The Installation Design Award was given to Hassell and the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) for its Design Wall 2023, which showcased 35 products that shape our everyday lives. “Embracing a zero-waste ethos and leaving no trace behind, the installation not only championed a cohesive visual language, but also delivered a meticulously curated educational display,” said the jury.

In Sydney, Song For The Mute’s new flagship store, designed by Pattern Studio, won the Retail Design Award. The jury commented on the store’s retail pods, “which display a physical embodiment of the brand”.

And the Premier Award for Interior Design – the biggest category in the awards – was given to Northcote House, a traditional terrace house with a stark minimalist interior design by LLDS. The architecture and design studio also won the Residential Design Award and the Best of State Residential Design (Victoria). The jury said Northcote House had an “exciting collision of technology, sculpture, and innovative material use”, with every component of the home manufactured within five kilometres of the site.

The awards are delivered by the Design Institute of Australia and Architecture Media’s Artichoke magazine. This year’s jury comprised David Flack (Flack Studio), Richard Coulson (Cox Architecture), Madeline Sewall (Breathe Architecture), Beatrix Rowe (Beatrix Rowe Interior Design), Isabelle Toland (Aileen Sage Architects), Adele Winteridge (Foolscap Studio), Paul Foskett (Populous) and Katherine Ashe (Vittino Ashe Architects).

The winners were announced on Saturday June 15. See the full list of awards below.