Melbourne Museum Summer Sessions

Thu 7th January, 2021 – Sun 24th January, 2021
Melbourne Museum Plaza
11 Nicholson Street, Carlton
Live music, cinema, comedy and more returns to the plaza in summer, with help from some heavyweight collaborators.

Melbourne Museum is teaming up with Melbourne Music Week and Melbourne International Comedy Festival this January, to host a series of Summer Sessions over 12 nights.

Staged at Melbourne Museum Plaza, between the museum and the Royal Exhibition Building, the sessions span music, comedy, outdoor cinema – with snacks.

As part of Melbourne Music Week’s extended incarnation this year, the plaza will host a diverse slate of live music, with all gigs running from 6 to 10pm.

First up is Halo Vocal Ensemble (Friday January 8), a gospel and R&B-inspired project curated by Melbourne DJ MzRizk (host of Boogie Beat Suite on PBS), and The DeLorean Project (Saturday January 9), a guest-packed hip-hop and R&B showcase from The Operatives. Public Opinion Afro Orchestra percussionist Nui Moon will lead a live tribute to recently departed Afrobeat icon Tony Allen (Fri Jan 22), while Afrobeat-inspired rising stars Bananagun will perform another night with Anti Fade Records labelmates Primo and Parsnip (Friday January 15).

Rounding out the music is an electronic line-up featuring Loods, Jennifer Loveless, and Roy Blues (Saturday January 16) and an improvised electronic collaboration presented by Crown Ruler and Wondercore Island (Saturday January 23), featuring Found Heads Collective, Maria Moles, Aarti Jadu, and DJ Shio Otani.

On the cinema front, a top cross-section of local comedians will host screenings of classic movies under the stars. Double Denim (Michelle Brasier and Laura Frew) will MC the horror-comedy holidays gem Gremlins (Thursday Jan 7, 6-10pm), with Alex the Magician warming up the crowd. That same talent, plus comedian Garry Starr and free-wheeling cabaret experience Die Roten Punkte, will host Home Alone (Sun Jan 10, 5-9pm). Hula hooper Hayley Hoopla will join the fun for screenings of sci-fi milestones Alien (Thursday Jan 14, 6-10pm) and E.T. (Sun Jan 17, 5-9pm), the latter MCed by Geraldine Quinn.

The movie selections culminate with Back to the Future (Thurs Jan 21, 6-10pm), hosted by Josh Earl (creator of the Don’t You Know Who I Am? podcast), and the original animated Lion King, hosted by Clara Cupcakes.

Book here