South Australia will not reopen its border to Victorians on July 20 as originally planned.

The revision was made on Tuesday morning following ongoing outbreaks of coronavirus in hotspot suburbs in Melbourne.

“We are increasingly concerned about the outbreaks which are occurring in Victoria, so we are not in a position to remove our border,” South Australian premier Steven Marshall said.

South Australia has already opened its borders to Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Tasmania and Queensland. State authorities are still considering reopening the borders to New South Wales and the ACT, and will provide an update later this week.