Following last night’s decision by Darebin Council to stop holding formal Australia Day celebrations and citizenship ceremonies on January 26, the federal government has revoked the council’s right to hold the ceremonies at any point during the year.

Assistant Immigration minister Alex Hawke announced the same penalty for Yarra Council last week after it decided to no longer formally recognise Australia Day on January 26.

Ceremonies for new citizens living within Yarra and Darebin Councils will now be held by neighbouring councils, or the Department of Immigration and Border Protection, on days including January 26.

The council governs an area that includes Bundoora, Kingsbury, Mclean, Fairfield, Alphington, Northcote, Preston, Reservoir, Coburg and Thornbury.

For Melbourne’s latest, subscribe to the Broadsheet newsletter.

Get our pick of the best news, features and events delivered twice a week